Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Forms Record and Playback, file layout
icon5.gif  Forms Record and Playback, file layout [message #143397] Thu, 20 October 2005 05:33 Go to next message
David.K.Dickson
I am not really a fully fledged technician, I am a functional applications consultant who enjoys rolling up his sleeves and learning something new that will help me in my job.

Currently, I am trying to use DataLoad Professional to load application data through Oracle Forms. The way that this product works is to run Oracle Forms in "Record" mode, then load the resultant recorded file into a a spreadsheet-like matrix. The user can then add records of their own into the matrix and save it. Oracle Forms is then run in "Playback" mode, and the user's records are then loaded via the forms. Unfortunately for me, what I am trying to do is more complex than the tasks the matrix can cope with, and I would like to dig deeper.

What I want to know is if the file layout of the "Record" file is documented anywhere? What do the various commands and parameters mean?

I have searched this forum, Metalink, OTN, the Oracle Documentation and Google, but haven't found anything yet.

I hope that somebody here can point me in the right direction.

TIA

David
Re: Forms Record and Playback, file layout [message #143548 is a reply to message #143397] Thu, 20 October 2005 17:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
Fascinating question ... you say
Quote:

What I want to know is if the file layout of the "Record" file is documented anywhere? What do the various commands and parameters mean?
Are you after the file layout of a Form record (which actually doesn't exist), or file layout of DataLoad Professional input file?

You say
Quote:

Unfortunately for me, what I am trying to do is more complex than the tasks the matrix can cope with, and I would like to dig deeper.